June 22, 2013

It’s been two and a half weeks already and I’m loving my mission! I’ve had many powerful experiences this week so far. I just returned from doing an Endowment session in the Provo Temple. Thank you mom for all the DearEdler letters. It means so much to me! I love getting any sort of letter so please, when you have time send me little notes or letters of encouragement. This week flew by! I’ll tell you all about it! But first I want to answer some your questions. Saturday is my Pday and I go to the Temple every Saturday. This is the only time I can email.

I’m going to try to tell you all about my best week so far here at the MTC!   Sunday was Father’s Day,  It was a wonderful Father’s day, and I hope you could feel my love all the way from Utah dad! I thought about you the whole day as well as my Heavenly Father who blessed me with such a wonderful family. This whole week I had times of frustration with the language, and times of great joy and feeling the Spirit! I love Devotionals in the BYU Marriot Center! This past Devotional was given by Elder Gay of the 70. The Spirit was so strong and there were many things he said I needed to here. He is an amazing man and talked a lot about receiving revelation. When he served a mission in Spain, it was very hard for him and other elders to find people to teach. He said that one day they all prayed in a missionary meeting and he felt inspired to do something that was against the law in spain, put up street boards that talked about the Church. He didn’t understand why when it was illegal. But he followed the prompting of the Spirit and then later told his mission president they had already baptisms by the dozens. Later that mission president took it to court and now street boards are legal in Spain. It was from his willingess to follow the prompting of the Spirit that something great came and many of thousands received the Gospel. I’ll never forget singing the closing him “More Holiness Give Me” and feeling the great love of my Savior for me as I sang the words, “more tears for His suffering”. Tears ran down my face as I had a sudden moment of feeling the great love the Lord has for me and all. We can’t even comprehend, and we always fall short, and yet the Lord ceases to stop blessing us continually. I know angels are watching over us missionaries. I felt that during the Devotional.

This week has been a sick center! Missionaries left and right got some sickness, either the Flu or food poisoning. On Wednesday there were over 100 missionaries that were throwing up all night and 4 from our district including my companion sister Morrison was one of them. I am really grateful I could help those who were sick instead of being sick. Yesterday Sister Morrison stayed in all day and I switched companionships with Sister Tuttle. She is so great and sweet! We love to work out and do a lot of the same things, so she was very easy to get a long with. I loved her quiet diligence when we were studying and planning lessons. It helped me a lot, because I have been feeling a greater desire to be even more diligent. It seemed like a plague had hit the MTC with all the poor sick missionaries, but now we’re all good and everyone’s healthy.

Sunday, tomorrow, June 23rd is the World Wide Church Broadcast here at the Marriot Center with all the First Presidency, President Monson and the Twelve. And guess who’s singing in the huge missionary choir!? Sister Morrison and I and our whole district as well as 1100 other missionaries! It will be at 4pm MDT, and you just might spot me on the TV as well as all of us other missionaries from the ward and other friends. I feel so blessed to be apart of it. We will be singing, “Called To Serve” and “Hark All Ye Nations”. We’ve been practicing the last two weeks and I forgot to mention it in my last email.

I had many great experiences this week. I love going out to the field during gym to play and exercise. I love studying Japanese and trying to speak it as much as I can. I love my companion! I love the many miracles I see each day. I love the testimonies of all the missionaries around me. I love being able to share my testimony with Christina and Onagasan. I love my teacher Workman Sensei! He is probably one of the most humble human beings I’ve ever met and has so much love for us. He’s young, probably 24 and married to a beautiful Japanese woman. I begged him to have us all meet her, because if he’s so great she must be too!
The one thing I seemed to have learned the most this week is the Lord loves everyone! He is always there for us, and always desring that we come to Him. I learned a lot about humility this week. I learned that I need to FORGET MYSELF and teach from my heart, not worring about what I can’t say in Japanese. I think about the people of Japan everyday. I love them so much! I can’t wait to see them soon in about 6 weeks and learn from them. I pray for all you family and friends. I know that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the one true Church with the fulness of the Gospel upon this earth. I know prayer is real and Heavenly Father will answer our prayers when we ask in faith. Another great week is ahead!
Love,
Sister Butler
Leave a Reply

