September 30, 2013

Life In Akita Japan
I had such a humbling experience this past week. Lately there has been so much negativity in sister Stevenson shimai’s and I companionship and I have earnestly been praying how I can serve and love her more. I feel unloved a lot of the time but had an experience this week that made me feel my Savior’s love I want to share. We were riding our bikes and sister Stevenson just wasn’t happy with me and I really don’t know why. I could feel this contention and was praying that we can just be positive and happy. We decided to ride our bikes far away to our investigator’s house who we don’t see very often because she’s busy and her husband’s been in the hospital. I had never met Sato san’s husband and didn’t know if I ever would. As we rode our bikes I thought she probably would take our treat we brought for her and we’d be on our way. But as we knocked on her door and she saw us she looked so happy and said her husband was home from the hospital. We were surprised and went inside. Her husband turned to us and had a big smile on his face. He has been in the hospital for 2 months because of prostate cancer and was very sick. He looked 75 but is only 56. He has gone through so much and as he started to talk with us he said, “How did you know to come here?” I wondered what he meant and then he said, “We just got back from the hospital and then you came and I know it was grace from God.” I felt the Spirit so strongly as he told us that he was hoping we’d come to visit and then we showed up. I didn’t even think much of us going to Sato sans because I thought she’d be busy. We ended up staying for two hours talking with her husband about his life changing experience how he’s become closer to God through this trial of cancer and he said he is open to opportunities God gives him. I bore testimony that us coming to his house was from God and then shared scriptures with him from the Book of Mormon. He is now back in the Hospital but it was truly a humbling experience and both mine and sister Stevenson’s heart was softened.
To see this man so humble after going through so much was a witness to me that Heavenly Father gives us trials so that we will be humble and turn to him. We can choose to become angry at God and wonder why we have to deal with this trial, but that is when the bitterness turns to anger and slowly there is emptiness. But Heavenly Father wants us to turn to Him in prayer. Sato san’s husband said that he now prays every day and didn’t before this trial. In Japan I never meet anyone that says they’ve prayed before to God, He does after going through his cancer. I was so grateful for this experience. Heavenly Father truly does answer our prayers.
This past week Ishida, our new investigator, well now the elders investiagtor, said he wants to be baptized! I invited him to be baptized after we watching the movie “Finding Faith in Christ” and he said he wants to. We gave him the Scripture 2 Nephi 31 to read from the Book of Mormon and he read it that night. He then texted us saying, “I want to be baptized”. He is such a good kid. He’s 18 and in his last year of high school. I hope he can be baptized this month!
We have another missionary coming! We will have 9 missionaries in one branch!
It’s so exciting!
I know the Book of Mormon is true and am so grateful to be able to read it every day.
Love,
Sister Butler
Leave a Reply

