June 23, 2014

Morioka Dendo!

Wonderful Family and friends!
Sister Konishi really is an amazing companion! She serves me more than any other companion I`ve had. She is always doing little acts of kindness and it`s a huge example for me. I love being with her and learning from her. She`s turning 27 in September, but looks 22! It`s really refreshing being with a mature 27 year old. There`s a lot of young missionaries, but I`ve always been so impressed with the mature Japanese missionaries.
    This past week I went on splits with sister Robertson in Akita! Is was a blast! My favorite part was taking the train and saying to sister Roberston “Let`s go talk to that girl“. She looked at me with eyes wide open and said, “What? But that`d be awkward“. Sister Robertson is really pretty and seems to have confidence, but I then learned that she had never talked to anyone on the train up to this point on her mission, being almost a year.
   I said, “She`ll love to talk to you!“ and so sister Robertson shyly went and sat down. We started to talk to this girl and found out that she wants to learn English. Sister Robertson invited her to Eikawa and gave her a flyer. It was such a small thing, but I saw her confidence grow. I am learning that every missionary has fears of talking to people. Sister Robertson said her biggest fear was rejection, and I believe that`s every missionary`s fear.
  I then thought of a scripture, 2 Timothy 1:7. I had a time in my life when I felt afraid to do something and randomly opened to this scripture. I memorized it that day I first read it and it`s helped me ever since.
   “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and love and of a sound mind.“
Satan wants us to fear so that we will hesitate to do that thing which will in reality bring us more happiness. Fear is always the hurdle that we must overcome. I have learned that when I am afraid to talk to someone, that is when I need to just act and do it. Spending the time thinking of doing it or not only allows more fear to creep in.
But God does not want us to fear. His plan is for us to have joy and Eternal Life. Nothing in that plan involves fear.
   I loved my last Zone Conference with President and sister Rasmussen! They will be flying back to Arizona to return home this next Saturday to end their missions. President Smith and Sister Smith, the new Mission President and his wife will be coming soon! We have a ZC with them July 2nd!
Brother Ishida, who got baptized when I was in Akita came to the ZC!!! He is preparing to go on a mission and I got to sit by him at the ZC! He told me after he really felt the Savior and Heavenly Father in the room.
It was also special going to Stake Conference with the many districts on Saturday and Sunday. We were the only Area in the mission that got to be with President and sister Rasmussen, which was very special. We all watched a Live broad-cast for the Stake Conference with ALL of Japan watching! Edler D. Todd Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles was presiding and spoke!
   It was so neat watching these American speak in Japanese haha. Of course Elder Christofferson spoke in English though.
At the end of the Conference, President and sister Rasmussen had made us all a goodbye video of their time in Japan. As we watched it, It brought me to tears as I listened to the song I one danced to as a little girl at the Japanese Immersion school. The song is “Sakura“ and is a famous song. It was the first time listening to it I felt such a special feeling and love for these Japanese people. The end of the video was pictures of the Savior. I also loved singing “God Be with You Till We Meet Again“ in Japanese. It was the first time I saw so many Japanese people, including missionaries, cry.
It was a day I will always remember.
Here`s some pictures of today! [See Tori’s Mission Photos link at top right] We had a lunch at the church with less active sister Megumi and a few member. We made taco salad and oreo pie! Sister Konishi and I shared a spiritual message.
There`s also a picture of a girl named Yuki and us today! We met her and invited her to hear the lessons and learn English. She said she wants to!
I love you all!
Butler Shimai
Tori
Leave a Reply

