July 13, 2014

WEEK IN MORIOKA!
  My new companion Hamano shimai!!! She is from Chiba-ken. She is 20 years old and the hardest working, most obedient missionary I`ve met so far being on a mission!!!
The first day we were together she said “Konichiwa“ to everyone as we rode our bikes and stopped at stop-lights. I was blown away. I had never been around a Japanese missionary that is so bold as her. She has a fun, bold, loving personality and she went to BYU-Hawaii for one year so she`s almost fluent in English.
   She asked me the first day if we could switch off every other day speaking English. Probably every other American missionary would be stoked, but it`s been really weird speaking English and I actually don`t like it haha.
   But President Smith encouraged all of us American`s to encourage our Japanese companions to speak English so I`ll do my best!
    This past week was so packed with lessons and finding!!! I loved it!!! We had 6 lessons with less-actives. One of those lessons was so full of the Spirit. It was the first time I saw Yoko shimai open her heart up. She said that she had prayed to receive an answer, and felt that Heavenly Father wasn`t answering her prayer and so she`s stopped praying. She cried as she poured out her feelings to us and I couldn`t help but get teary. I promised her that Heavenly Father is and will answer that prayer, but sometimes it`s in a way that we don`t expect. It might take more time for her, but I`m so grateful I can love her and show her how much the Savior loves her.
   We had 3 lessons with Satomi! Two of those lessons were with members, Rio chyan and Hibiki chyan. Both are 18 and 19 years old. Rio chyan got baptized 3 weeks ago, and Hibiki chyan got baptized last September. Satomi has been worried because her dad said she can`t get baptized, but Rio told her how her parents were against her getting baptized too. She said that she had prayed that her mom would sign the paper so she could get baptized.She then opened her scriptures to D&C and read 61:36,
“And now, verily I say unto you, and what I say unto one I say unto all, be of good cheer, little children; for I am in your midst, and I have not forsaken you;“
She said she felt the Savior right there with her when she read it and the next day her mom allowed her to be baptized.
Rio bore testimony to Satomi that the Lord is with her too and it will all be okay.
I learned from this tender experience that member`s testimonies are needed for investigators` true conversion.
 
Quote of the week
 
  “You change immediately with each good thought, each good act, every good word changes you for the better.“ (The Fourth Kind of Missionary)
 
I am learning that I can continually change for the better. Everyone can! That is the good news! That is the message of the Atonement of Jesus Christ. No matter how yesterday was, today is a new day and you can be better than yesterday! It all starts with our thoughts.
 
Love,
Tori
 
Butler shimai
Leave a Reply

