July 27, 2014

Family, friends, loved ones!

This week was full of so many little miracles!
My hope is that from reading my letter, you can recognize the miracles in your own life.

Last Monday we did an FHE for the YSA! It was our first FHE! We had a ping pong tournament and only 3 YSA came since the others had work, but it was way fun!

On Wednesday we had a Sushi making party with a member, sister Muraki. It was her and one other member who is struggling coming to Church right now. A less active was supposed to come but she couldn`t make it. I`m excited to make sushi one day for you mom and dad! But this sushi was bread sushi! Instead of rice, we used bread haha!

After my interview time with President Smith this past week, I really pondered on everything he had said. It was a short 10 minute time together, but I got a lot from it. He encouraged me to serve Hamano shimai as much as I can each day and never gossip. It was so interesting because I`ve never gossiped about Hamano shimai, but that was the advice he gave me. It must`ve been what I needed.

My favorite day this past week was Saturday! Hamano shimai and I made the goal this past week to not ride bikes and walk everywhere so we could find a new investigator. We walked 4 1/2 hours and it was so fun! We walked to a far away park and talked to EVERYONE in our path! We met a girl at the park who agreed to have a 5 min lesson with us. We sang hymns in the woods with a man while he played the guitar. We met another man by the river who was reading a book and told him was a good father because he said he loves his children. We had so many opportunities to invite that day! I want to walk everywhere and talk to everyone!
I desire everyone to experience the joy of losing themself and inviting everyone to come unto Christ. There is no other joy like it.

I was asked to give a training for our District Training Meeting on Saturday. I studied from my new book “The Power of Every day Missionaries“. I love this book! I came across a part I needed to hear. It talked about how full-time missionaries do not become friends first and then invite, they invite and through teaching build a relationship of friendship.

As I shared this, our district said they`ve felt they needed to become friends first before inviting someone to learn about the Gospel. I feel very strongly that is a tactic of Satan. He wants us to miss those opportunities to invite.
We are to invite ALL to come unto Christ, and I know through inviting we will gather the Lord`s sheep, just as it declares in 1 Nephi 22:25.

President Smith sent all of us missionaries two quotes I really liked.

“The Lord wants a broken heart and a contrite spirit. Use your pain, your loneliness, your home sickness, your depression, your disappointments as the sanding paper for the rough spots in your character and as a means to help you humble yourself before God. Don’t ask to be delivered; rather ask to endure. Don’t ask to be freed, but rather ask what you are to learn. Don’t ask to go back to being what you used to be, but ask God
to make you what He wants you to be.”
-Elizabeth Gessel

“When in situations of stress we wonder if there is any more in us to give, we can be comforted to know that God, who knows our capacity perfectly, placed us here to succeed. No one was foreordained to fail or to be wicked. Let us remember that we were measured before and were found equal to our tasks; therefore, let us continue, but with a more determined discipleship. When we feel overwhelmed, let us recall the assurance that God will not over-program us; he will not press upon us more than we can bear.”
-Neal A Maxwell

Yesterday I loved walking around the park right in front of our Church. Hamano shimai and I met a man who was feeding the ducks with his special needs 19 year old son. We came up and said, “Oh that looks fun!“. The man, with a huge smile, turned and gave us each a piece of bread to feed the ducks too. I thought that was so kind. We started to feed the ducks together. I told the man I worked with special needs for 3 summer`s and loved it. He said he`s looking for a program his son can go to. I told him about your Special Care Agency in Washington aunt Sally, and he said he`s com`n to America haha!
I could see this bright light in this man`s eyes and he was so Christ-like, even though he`s never learned about Christ. The Light of Christ is in each of us! That`s amazing to me.
I hope to meet that man and his son again.

Love,
Sister Butler

Leave a Reply

