September 7, 2014

Forget Yourself and Get To Work

Nakaima shimai and I were making all of our plans for this month and it`s busy busy BUSY! I love busy, so it`s a real good thing.
This month of September is just gonna fly by since there`s so many companion exchanges, and meetings. Nakaima shimai and I went on our first split this transfer with two sisters from Iwaki, sister Iwasa and sister McGreevy. I love getting to know sisters on splits and hearing how they`ve changed on their mission. I was with sister McGreevy for 24 hour split and she told me about how she`s changed a lot from her mission. I learned a lot from her. Our bike`s lock got stuck so we had to walk back to our apartment from the Church (about 30 minute walk) and on that walk she told me something that I loved!
She said,
   “Butler shimai, I don`t want my mission to end! I love it so much!“
That simple saying of not wanting a mission to end because you love it so much always makes me smile so big and feel so much respect for that missionary. I then think, “I should feel that same way!“
To be honest, I do love my mission, but the first year I never thought that I didn`t want it to end. I loved everything about that first year, but I honestly would get excited thinking about returning home. Now, it`s not that way anymore. I can honestly say I will be so sad when it`s time to pack up to leave. With only 3 months left I treasure so many things now I might`ve taken for granted before.
This past week Nakaima shimai and I went to the mission home for “Missionary Leadership Council“ like we have every first Tuesday and Wednesday of the month. Since transfers there`s a lot of new companionships and it`s so fun! I was inspired listening to President Smith teach us all on the importance of asking our investigators inspired questions. We did roleplays “mogi lessons“, and practiced asking inspired questions to a fake investigator. I learned that it`s more important to sincerely listen to your companion as they testify than it is to try and think about an inspired quesiton. It wasn`t until I turned to Nakaima shimai as she testified that I felt inspired to ask a specific quesiton. Companionship unity is so important to have the Spirit!
  Nakaima shimai and I do service every Saturday at an old folks home and this past week I just loved talking to the grandma`s and grandpa`s. It amazed me that they all had blue rings around the outside of their iris on their eyes. I`ve noticed that in many older people. The older they get, the lighter their eye color becomes. As I was talking to them I could feel the Light of Christ radiating from them. I always can feel the pure kindness and innocence some old people carry with them. I believe it`s because they become like little children.
  Our Zone had it`s first Zone Training Meeting on Friday!!! I love Koriyama Zone!!! It`s by far the smallest Zone I`ve ever been in! There`s only two districts! A total of 14 people! My beloved daughter (trainee) Iwahashi shimai is in the Zone! It`s so fun being in the mission for a while because no new missionaries have been coming in so everyone`s real close.
     Nakaima shimai and I gave a 30 minute training on being unified. It was super fun! We had everyone write on the back of a puzzle peice one thing needed to be unified. Then everone came up and put the puzzle peices together to form a heart with a scripture. It was Mosiah 18:21,
   
       “And he commanded them that there should be no contention one with another, but that they should look forward with one eye, having one faith and one baptism, having their hearts knit together in unity and in love one towards another“
We focused on focusing on the strenghts of our companions and not the weaknesses. We felt impressed to ask each companionship what their companions strengths were. It was humbling to see the whole atmosphere of the room become so filled with the Spirit and love as missionaries told what they loved about their companion.
At MLC training, President Smith told us that elder Ringwood (Asia North General President) is challenging all of us missionaries to teach at least 20 lessons a week. Nakaima shimai and I have many split appointments and meetings this next week but we believe we can teach half that! We will strive our best to teach 10 lessons this next week. This past week we taught 5 lessons!
Do you remember the story about the man we met a few weeks ago who looked sad but Nakaima stopped to talk to him on the street and boldly testified to him? His name was Ishii san. Well, miracle!!! We met him again this week walking in the rain. We had a lesson with him right their on the street. We prayed in the rain and he thought it was hazukashii (embarrassing), but we know God wanted him to hear our message. We didn`t make a next appointment, but we had many experiences like that this week, where we were at least able to teach a lesson. Last Monday we met a man housing who said he wantst to build a relationship with God. We taught a lesson right there outside his apartment. We invited him to pray at the end, but since he`d never prayed before I gave him a demonstration. I didn`t realize that he thought I wanted him to repeat what I was saying, so as I prayed, he repeated my every sentence. It was so sweet, like when a little child first learns prayer. It amazed me that this man had never prayed, but now he was! We have an appointment with him and the elders tonight at the Church for a lesson!!! His name is Hirono san!
    You asked about Fumiya kun! He didn`t end up texting us back, but I`m not giving up on him. Nakaima shimai left our phone on the bus on accident so we`re just waiting for it to get mailed to us.
   I have a scripture that I loved when I read it this past week! It`s a scripture mastery and I`ve read it hundred of times, but this time when I read it it just hit me!
      “For the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be, forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit, and putteth off the natural man and becometh a saint through the atonement of Christ the Lord, and becometh as a child, submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon him, even as a child doth submit to his father.“
I want to have this scripture on the wall of my home one day with pictures of my children. Children eminate these qualities and it`s is all because of the Atonement.
I love you so much! I am always praying for you!
Find miracles this next week and write them down so you can share them with me!
Love,
Tori
Leave a Reply

