October 12, 2014

Tuesday and Wednesday sister Nakaima and I headed to Sendai for Missionary Leadership training! We first went to the Church in Nagamachi and had an activity there. President Smith and the AP`s had planned that we would be split up in different companionship`s and go housing for 1 hour.
  I was with my previous companion in Morioka sister Konishi! We decided that we would prayerfully set the goal to find one new investigator! We would teach her a lesson and make a next appointment. A few of us missionaries rode in the car with President Smith to get dropped off in the area we would be housing.
Once we got out of the car, sister Konishi and I went of a ways to a secluded area to pray that we would find this one prepared woman. Then we began to walk around and the first house we went to was an old woman. She talked to us for a while and was so kind, but didn`t seem to have real interest. As we left I felt we should go to the apartment complex right in front of us. The first door we knocked on, a girl opened slowly and once she saw my face she kind of jumped. I assumed it was because I was American. She then had a smile as we introduced ourselves. Konishi shimai was so well at getting to know this 27 year old girl named Chen Tian. It wasn`t until half way through of talking that we found out she is from China!
   Chen was so open to our message that God lives and loves and knows her. She said she believes God does live and she wants to know more. We gave her a pamphlet on the Plan of Salvation and asked if we could meet tomorrow to tell her more about Heavenly Father`s plan for her. She said she`d be busy, but could the next day at 7:30pm. We were so excited. I then introduced prayer and asked if we could pray together before leaving. Chen agreed and I`ll never forget how she so humbly folded her arms and closed her eyes just like the picture in the pamphlet. She said she`d never prayed before so it was her first time. Then Konishi shimai prayed and after we all looked up at each other.
   Chen said, “I feel so good inside“.
We told her, “That`s because God was listening to our prayer and that`s His love for you“.
After we left, while walking down the stairs Konishi shimai and I grabbed each other in a big hug walking down the stairs. We quickly said a prayer of thanks to Heavenly Father for answering or prayer!
On the way back I got to sit in the car upfront with President Smith driving. He said, “Well sister Butler, did you find anyone?“
I told him our miracle and he then said something that touched my heart.
“Sister Butler, Heavenly Father smiles wherever you go“.
We stayed the night at the Mission Home and the next day we had training. There were a few things I wanted to share from that training.
Sister Smith talked about the Temple and referred to the Bible Dictionary under “Temple“. She talked about how the “Tempe is literally the House of the Lord“. I want my home to always be like the Temple.
The AP`s did a training on using the Pamphlets were given to teach a lesson. President Smith was their pretending investigator. I learned something so special from this roleplay.
Elder Ito (AP) is a convert to the Church from the age of 17. Elder Law (other AP) were teaching about the Restoration and as elder Ito began to talk about Joseph Smith`s first vision he showed the picture of Joseph Smith in the Sacred Grove with the appeared Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. He then began to recite Joseph Smith`s own words of his first vision,
    “I saw a pillar of light, exactly over my head above the brightness of the sun. Which descended gradually until the light rested upon me. As the light rested upon me I saw two personages, whose brightness and glory defy all description, standing above me in the air“
  Elder Ito then began to weep. He was so sincere and I could see that this elder new Jospeh Smith`s words were true. He then continued,
“One of them spake unto me, and said pointing to the other, `Joseph, this is my Beloved Son, hear him“.
Not only did I have tears in my eyes but other missionaries and President Smith.
I learned that anytime truth is taught, the Spirit is there.
On Friday sister Nakaima and I had a 30 minute training the Zone Leaders asked us to provide. We chose to train on having JOY everyday as a missionary. We read passages from Alma 27, 29 where Alma and Ammon have joy in their missions.
 Then we took 10 minutes for every missionary in our Zone to write a letter. In this letter they wrote when they`ve felt joy on their mission and then we had them write their own address on their envelope. We told them this letter would be to their future self they can open after their mission. I will be sending those letters today to all their individual homes.
    I remember doing a similar thing as an EFY counselor in Washington. I had all the kids in my group write what their desires are from what they`d gained the past week at efy. I took all their personal letters and sent it to their homes a few months later so they could be reminded.
    There is joy in REMEMBERING. When we remember, we are grateful.
I LOVED General Conference on Saturday and Sunday! Nakaima shimai and I invited less actives and recent convert, sister Madoka. Sadly, not many came, but it was still a joyful meeting.
Sister Nakaima and I still have no investigators at this time. But we met a 24 year old girl named Maya at Eikaiwa (English class) in Koriyama! She wants to start doing the FFEP (Free family english program)! 30 min of English, 30 minutes of Gospel message! We`ll start this Friday in Koriyama with Johnson shimai and I because we have a split together on Friday!
   Nakaima shimai and I will be gone the next 3 days on splits in Iwaki with sisters. This whole next month is full of splits and meetings. We will be going down to Sendai once again the 24th, 25th for Missionary Leadership Training. We are going to talk to as many people the Lord puts in our path!
We have a Halloween party 29th in Aizu and 31st is Zone Training Meeting and Halloween party in Koriyama. Since there are no missionaries in Koriyama do to radiation, we switch off going to Church in Koriyama for English class and Sacrament Meeting.
Have a wonderful next week!
Mom I did love elder Jorg Klebingat`s talk too!! It`s so true, “Casualness in Spiritual living was never happiness“
I have felt this truth many times in my life.
“Don`t be immobalized by your weaknesses“ – Elder Jorg Klebingat
I am always praying for you and my family and friends!
love,
Tori
Butler Shimai
Leave a Reply

