October 19, 2014

What a Wonderful World!

Mother, Father, Family, Loved ones!
 
 

    Nakaima shimai and I went to Iwaki for a 2 day split this past Tuesday through Thursday. I was with Orgill shimai and once again I learned the power of specific prayer. Orgill shimai came to Japan the same time I did and we both return in December. There are many sisters returning with me, I think over 20. Sister Orgill had planned that we go housing and as we were knocking on apartments we felt impressed to go to a certain apartment complex. We had prayed that we would specifically find a woman, teach her a lesson and set a next appointment with her. Then the miracle happened.

     We met Eden! At first she slowly opened the door and told us she has a friend who`s Mormon. Eden`s from the Philippines! She`s a mother in her mid 30`s and has lived in Japan over 20 years. Orgill shimai got so excited when they both realized that the Mormon friend she has is an Iwaki member, named sister Juliette. We were all stunned when sister Orgill realized this was the Eden that sister Juliette had been talking about sharing the Gospel with the previous week. 
    We taught Eden a simple message of the Savior, showed her the Book of Mormon and she invited us in her home to pray. I`ll never forget kneeling on her bare mattress in that tiny apartment and telling her the Savior loves her and our message is true. I could see light in her eyes. She said she grew up Catholic, but said she barely goes to Church or prays. We taught her prayer and then Orgill shimai prayed. After the prayer Eden said “Tori hada“, which means “goosebumps“ in Japanese.  She said she had such a good feeling during the prayer. We told her that`s the Spirit because our message is true. After leaving and having made a next appointment for Thursday, I couldn`t stop hugging Orgill shimai I was so happy. Once we got to our bikes, we both said a prayer of thanks to Heavenly Father for guiding us to Eden. We had smiles the whole rest of the day!
That miracle of meeting a very prepared person exactly when she needed the missionaries was an experience of joy I will never forget!
 
    Orgill shimai shared with me that night many of her personal goals before returning home from her mission.
One that really touched me and I decided I want to work on more as well was “Have absolute control over the natural man“. That is a hard obstacle, because we all have the natural man in us. But I was inspired after Orgill shimai shared that goal and when I feel tired, or maybe have a negative thought I will strive to quickly change to the positive.
 
I went on splits with Iwahashi shimai as well! My beloved daughter that I trained in Akita. She is happy and we both had fun helping a little Japanese grandma plant plants in her beautiful garden. We had a lesson with a member in Iwaki, sister Keiko and she was so kind and gave us a bunch of doughnuts!
 
I went on splits with Sister Marilyn Johnson on Friday too! We had three lessons that day! One was with Maya, Nakaima shimai and my new investigator!! Maya lives in Koriyama, but we set up a schedule to do 30 minute English 30 minute Church message twice a week, Friday`s and Sundays. We switch off going to Koriyama every four weeks so she might have to be taught by other missionaries. She said she wants to know why Christ suffered on the cross and why we believe in God when we can`t see him. We taught Maya how to pray and read Moroni 10:4-5 with her and invited her to pray for the first time at the end of the lesson. She did and it was from her heart! She said she had a feeling of being healed after the prayer. I am always amazed after teaching someone prayer and inviting them to pray for the first time, something they`ve never done before in their whole life, they always share that they felt good inside. The Spirit will always touch anothers` heart through prayer.
 
I wish I had time to share more from this past week, but all I can say is I am so grateful to be a missionary! I love these people of Japan. I love my companion sister Nakaima! Miracles are happening every day as faith is shown. Just like Nephi and his family showed faith, they were pointed the way by the Liahona,
 40 And it did work for them according to their faith in God;therefore, if they had faith to believe that God could cause that those spindles should point the way they should go, behold, it was done; therefore they had this miracle, and also many other miracles wrought by the power of God, day by day.“
 
Love,
Sister Tori Butler
Leave a Reply

