November 16, 2014

 Kodama shimai and I have a new investigator!!! The elders found Yasuyo housing and she`s in mid 50`s and had interest right away. They let us know and set up an appointment for us to go with them and teach Yasuyo a lesson. We got to her housing planning to teach her the Restoration since she asked, “Why does your religion have another Book?“
   We walked in her house and she was so friendly. We got to know Yasuyo a little bit and she told us that she would let the Jehovah Witnesses come in and teach her a short lesson before, but felt that there was something more. We began with a prayer and then I began to tell her how our message`s focus is Jesus Christ. When I asked her what she knew about Jesus Christ she said that she know He Atoned for our sins and died for us and was Resurrected. She talked about how when she first heard that tears filled her eyes and she was so impress that someone would die for her. Us sisters looked at the elders impressed that she had a deep understanding of Jesus Christ and actually a testimony of Him.
  We began to explain how after Jesus Christ established His true Church on the earth according to Godly authority, known as the Priesthood, people had crucified Christ, killed His Apostles and that Authoirty and Christ`s true Church was taken away. We told her how with the records of Christ`s Apostles and all other records in the Bible, many mis-interpretaions were made and many different people created their own Church, but with out that proper authority. Yasuyo seemed to understand it all very well. And then we introduced how in 1820 a 14 year old boy who lived in New York had a burning question of which church was right. And how that boy read in the Bible from James 1:5,
    “If any of ye lack wisdom, let him ask of God, and if shall be given to him…“
Then Yasuyo understood that what that boy named Joseph Smith did next was exactly that, he went to a secluded area in the woods by his house and knelt in humble prayer to ask God which Church he should join.
Then elder Suzuki recited Jospeh Smith`s own words in Japanese,
  “ I saw a pillar of light, exactly over my head above the brightness of the sun which decended gradually until it fell upon me. When the light rested upon me, I saw two personages; who`s brightness and glory defy all description standing above me in the air.
   One of them spake unto me, calling me by name, and said pointing to the other,
`Jospeh, this is my Beloved Son, Hear Him“
Yasuyo seemed to deeply ponder as she looked at the picture of Joseph Smith with God the Father and Jesus Christ above him standing in the air with such glory. I always feel the Spirit when I talk of Jospeh Smith`s experience, because even though I wasn`t there, I know it`s true. I feel it`s true every time I tell it. Through Jospeh Smith Jesus Christ`s true Church and that Godly authority, the Priesthood, was once again established on the earth.
   We have our next appointment on Thursday with member sister Takase.
We also have an appointment tonight with the Tsunoda family who came to our Sports activity two weeks ago. They will be doing the 6 week Free English Program to do 30 minutes English and 30 minutes the Church message. It is such an inspired program!
I had a funny experience this past week. After teaching Eikaiwa, English class, in Koriyama us two sisters and the two elders rode back with brother Saito to Aizu. Brother Saito made us all sandwiches for the ride back! We were so grateful because we hadn`t eaten dinner and began to eat. I asked the elders a question while I was eating and all of the sudden the Japanese elder who`s on his 3rd transfer just fresh out swung his head towards me and said, “Butler shimai, talking with your mouth full is very rude. It is not pretty to see and very rude in the Japanese culture. You better be more careful“. Now this elder is always joking arond and sometimes he has a hard sense of humor. The car went silent and it was a little awkward. I barely had said anything and didn`t even have my mouth full. I then said, “Okay elder. I`ll be more careful.“ I couldn`t tell if he was joking but then realized he was dead serios, but he said it in such a strict way I was surprised. Then my companion Kodama shimai with as much sandwich as she could fit in her mouth said, “Elder, this sandwich is delicious isn`t it!“
     He swung his head around and everyone started laughing. I thought, I have the best companion!
Kodama shimai had the best conversation last night during dinner. We talked about the joy we`ve felt in our family`s and we were both getting emotional sharing experiences of memories from our family`s.before our missions.
We were able to teach 12 lessons this past week! 1 of those was to investigator Yasuyo, but the rest were Less actives and members. We will try and teach as many lessons we can in a week!
I know this is the Lord`s work and my love for the Lord grows each day that I share with a stranger, “God loves you“.
Love,
Tori
Leave a Reply

